5 Things I Try When I *Really* Don't Feel Like Writing

In partnership with

Thanks for being here!

I also appreciate the partner support that makes this possible. Click the link to learn more.

Use AI as Your Personal Assistant

Ready to embrace a new era of task delegation?

HubSpot’s highly anticipated AI Task Delegation Playbook is your key to supercharging your productivity and saving precious time.

Learn how to integrate AI technology into your processes, allowing you to optimize resource allocation and maximize output with precision and ease.

It happens to all creatives at one point or another.

We hit a wall.

We don’t feel like writing, filming, drawing, playing music, recording a video, or designing.

I’m fortunate that I don’t experience it as often as I used to but, I realize it usually happens when:

  • I’m tired, physically and mentally.

  • I don’t have a good grasp of background or knowledge for the article assignment. I feel a bit like “I don’t know what I’m doing.”

  • I am not interested in the topic for one reason or another.

  • I’ve been working too much in one location and haven’t moved my body, showered, drank enough water, or eaten well.

As many longtime readers know, I’m running a six-figure(ish) freelance business working less than 20 hours a week so I don’t have the luxury of a lot of daydreaming time.

(I say ‘ish’ because in the past year or so it might be $90,000 while in other years it’s over $100,000.)

So on those days I don’t feel like writing, I do one of these five tasks, not necessarily in this order.

(But, if we’re being honest, number three probably always takes place first.)

  1. I put myself in ‘jail.’ I’ll turn on a timer that beeps in 25 minutes. I can’t get up, respond to an email, my phone, social media notifications, or do anything else until I write the first draft of what I need to get done or until the 25 minutes is up. Usually, the time flies by and I keep going.

  2. I listen to a podcast. This is often accompanied by a walk. When I turn on some sort of business podcast or motivational podcast and mix it with fresh air and better blood flow from exercise, I always come up with ideas and inspiration. (Here are some of the best podcasts freelancers should listen to for career inspiration.)

  3. I go get a snack or a drink. I’m pretty sure I’m in good company with this ‘distraction’ technique amongst others who work from home. When we’re procrastinating and don’t feel like doing the thing we should be doing, we get up to see if there’s an answer in the fridge or pantry. Often there’s not. But, maybe I’ll be rehydrated or fill up my stomach and it’ll help my blood sugar. (This one doesn’t always work for idea generation or writing but, if I’m being honest, it’s definitely something I do when I don’t want to write.)

  4. I’ll read a magazine. This might seem like it’s an option that’s not readily available to us these days but, I’m fortunate that my local library uses digital servers like Hoopla and Libby so I can read a recent issue of many magazines. I find that I get fresh ideas from reading the articles, looking at advertisements and the copy, reading about trends, and reading cover lines.

  5. I change locations. When I lived in a tiny studio apartment in Manhattan and got “stuck,” I walked to a local coffee shop or the library. (The library is better for me for writing, and the coffee shop is good for research and other tasks.) Now, I’ll move to a different location in my home, preferably getting different light and some fresh air or, I’ll head to a library or coffee shop.

What do you do to get past procrastination?

Feel free to respond here. I’ll share some readers’ advice in an upcoming post.

Warmest,

Diana

Receive this email from a friend?

(Thanks, friend!)

Subscribe to the weekly freelance writing tips email here.

Have a buddy who you think wants to learn how to freelance? I’d so appreciate it you’d forward this email to them so I can send them free resources and show them how fun it is to become a freelancer.

What’s Happening in My Business and Personal Life

Freelance Jobs I Found

(I have no connection to these and they were live when I found them a few days before this newsletter was sent. Good luck!)

Get in front of ~4,000 freelancers in this Freelance Writing Tips newsletter. Or, sponsor a LinkedIn post, LinkedIn article/newsletter (~12,000 followers and 10,388 newsletter subscribers), or an X post or thread (5.5K).

Learn more about how we can work together with my audiences of 20,000+.