My ABG Strategy That Nets High-Paying Clients

Real-life examples and how you can steal it.

In partnership with

Use AI as Your Personal Assistant

Ready to embrace a new era of task delegation?

HubSpot’s highly anticipated AI Task Delegation Playbook is your key to supercharging your productivity and saving precious time.

Learn how to integrate AI technology into your processes, allowing you to optimize resource allocation and maximize output with precision and ease.

One of my secrets of getting higher-paying clients each year?

Make sure you practice your ABG's.

No, that’s not a typo. I borrowed it from podcaster Jordan Harbinger.

Instead of the sales tool “Always Be Closing,” ABG represents “Always Be Giving” or “Always Be Generous.”

I try to apply it when I connect with a potential new client or follow up with an old client.

I’ll even tag editors in a LinkedIn post I read that I thought would be interesting for them.

Some ways I did this recently?

I emailed an editor who recently moved to a new magazine. I read his byline in a different publication and pointed out some of the tips in his article that were helpful to me.

How to steal it: Before you email an editor or manager, look up something about them or their company. Congratulate them on a recent award (and link to the article). Or, tell them that you read an article they wrote (link to it again) and let them know which pieces resonated with you.

I reached out to an editor I haven’t worked with in over a year to see how her new role at the company was going. That’s it. I didn’t ask for work.

How to steal it: The next time you see an editor or manager you’ve worked with and followed got promoted via a LinkedIn update, congratulate them on that platform publicly. Then, email them to say congrats again and ask how they like their new position.

When I sent an email after a weekend, I asked a client how their child (by name or gender) or pet is doing. Sometimes this takes another 30 seconds to go back to an earlier email to get that info. I think it’s worth it.

How to steal it: Try to weave in some personal information or gather details from clients when you correspond via email. Are they going on vacation or holiday? Ask where? Did they recently attend a conference? Ask how it was. These small gestures help you stand out from the crowd and will build relationships that are ongoing.

Why do these tips work and help you get higher-paying clients.

You’re building relationships.

You’re someone that the editor thinks of as more than a generic freelancer.

You’re Joe who runs marathons, has a cat, and who asks about an editor’s recent travels.

Being memorable is how you’ll keep your pipeline full of assignments.

Received this email from a friend? (Thanks, friend!)

Subscribe to the weekly freelance writing tips email here.

Have a buddy who you think wants to learn how to freelance? I’d so appreciate it you’d forward this email to them.

Get in front of ~4,000 freelancers in this Freelance Writing Tips newsletter. Or, sponsor a LinkedIn post, LinkedIn article/newsletter that has over 10,000 subscribers, or an X post or thread.

Learn more about how we can work together with my audiences of 20,000+.

Learn how to write a better freelance article pitch!

This small-but-mighty PDF shows you 10 email pitches that worked and turned into freelance work.